Seventh Chords

major 7 chord

Seventh chords are 4 note chords that add the 7th note of the scale to the chord. Learn to play piano online.

The MAJOR 7TH CHORD has 1, 3, 5, and 7 tones of the major scale.

The C major 7 chord has C, E, G, and then B as the seventh note.

Note that this is the 7th note of the major scale and we call this a major 7th chord.

The chord is C major 7th or Cmaj7.

This a major chord with the naturally ocurring major 7th note.

Many times the 7th note is flattened by a half step.

seventh chord

The major chord with a flattened 7th note is 1,3, 5, and b7. It is called the dominant 7th chord or 7TH CHORD.

The C major chord with a flattened 7th note is C, E, G, and Bb.

We call this chord C7. The chord with a flat 7th note is the 7 number.

minor seventh chord

The MINOR 7TH chord has 1, b3, 5, and b7 tones.

The C minor 7th chord has C, Eb, G, and Bb.

We call this chord a C minor 7th or Cmin7.

Next lesson is Chord Inversions

Share this page:
Enjoy this page? Please pay it forward. Here's how...

Would you prefer to share this page with others by linking to it?

  1. Click on the HTML link code below.
  2. Copy and paste it, adding a note of your own, into your blog, a Web page, forums, a blog comment, your Facebook account, or anywhere that someone would find this page valuable.